A day in a current and past life.

  • 8.00am wake up
  • 8.02am shower, brush teeth
  • 8.15am get dressed, do make up
  • 8.30am go to work
  • 8.50am make a coffee and some oats for breakfast
  • 8.55am sit down in front of my computer and start scanning through my work for the day

It concerns me that I’m so used to my weekday routine, I know it off my heart down to the minutes. I do things in order and usually count the minutes.

Seemed like a relatively normal weekday for me but then it hit me. Hard.

I started questioning what I was doing? what was I planning to do in the future? what have I achieved so far? did I do the things I had thought I’d do by the time I hit 26 and if not, why not? And then the ultimate question hit: am I happy?

I spent the rest of the day pondering. Least to say, I didn’t actually get much work done. I went home and kept reassessing my life and worrying about how I’m going to be turning 30 in three and a half years and I have nothing to show for my 20s. I think 18-year-old me would be very disappointed. My flatmate told me I was going through a ‘quarter life crisis’. Hmm… it can’t possibly be…

I googled ‘quarter life crisis’ and interestingly enough, Wikipedia describes it as ‘…a period of life ranging from twenties to thirties, in which a person begins to feel doubtful about their own lives, brought on by the stress of being an adult’. Okay so he was right.

It was in that moment that I think I completely woke up. I needed to do the things that I wanted to do for so long but never did because I used the excuse of ‘I’m poor’ or ‘I’m too tired to care’. I mean, let’s be honest here, I’m still relatively poor (whopping $19 to last me til payday in 5 days! Woot!) but I’m not going to let it stop me. Not this time anyways.

  • I’m going to create a life that isn’t going to be measured by time.
  • I’m going to do things that scare me one at a time.
  • I’m going to travel. Fuck yes.

Hello. Join me as I prepare, plan and navigate my way through whatever the world throws at me. After all, life’s an open book waiting for you to fill its pages.

 

Leave a Reply

