The deep end: Part One

 I’m thinking of solo travel in 2017.

I’m not going to lie – doing anything on my own is pretty terrifying. I think back to the days when I was growing up in Kuala Lumpur – a country where serious crime such as kidnapping, assault, rape and theft is common – and I used to catch a taxi, go to the mall and watch movies at the cinema and get food on my own. I was 12 years old.

Of course, my mother used to lose her shit and get so angry at me because she was concerned about my safety and wellbeing but did that ever phase me? Nah.

Fast forward to today in Wellington, New Zealand – 26 years old and the thought of even going to the movies alone is unheard of. I mean, what if people start judging me and think I’m a sore loser who has no friends? No, no, no… I couldn’t possibly have that. How about going to a cafe alone and god forbid, actually eating/drinking coffee there. Alone. (I think I just shat my pants).

Did I mention I’m thinking of solo travel in 2017? Oh the irony of it all.

In the last couple of weeks, I decided to throw myself in what I call ‘the deep end’ – that’s putting myself in scary (okay, uncomfortable) situations and see how they pan out.

Scary situation #1

I had to go into town for a walk-in appointment but unfortunately, it was really busy. What a waste of bloody time.

So rather than turn around and waste the day in the comforts of my own home, I decided to visit the Wellington City Gallery because I really wanted to go (and no one seemed to have a vested interest in joining me…) AND because why the heck not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was great. It was educational. It was interesting. I had a good time by myself. I had so much fun, I pretended I was a foreigner from Paris who wanted to immerse herself in some good ol’ Kiwi culture.

After that, I decided to take it a step forward and went to the food court by myself (GASP. Such public place, much alone, what loser).

I ate food, I read a book, I soaked in my surroundings and guess what? I DIDN’T DIE.

And yes, there is a second part to this… watch this space…

 

Leave a Reply

