The cure to loneliness

IMG_1982

Okay I did it. I’m sorry. I feel like I need to apologise for being really naughty but I really couldn’t help myself. I don’t know what to say… I guess in some ways I’m just out of control.

I just had to click bait you.

Now, now before you click out of this post I’m not entirely lying to you. While I don’t have the cure to loneliness, I do want to talk about it.

Let’s start with the definition. I would define loneliness as the feeling of actually realising you’re alone and wanting to be in someone else’s presence.

I googled what it meant and the first definition that popped up was “sadness because one has no friends or company”. Okay I’m not gonna lie, I had a bit of a chuckle at that definition but it’s not wrong. I think we all perceive loneliness differently. For me, when I feel lonely I just really want to talk to someone or be in the presence of a being or feel connected to someone.

As what is considered an ‘introvert extrovert’, I don’t often get lonely but I know that when I do, it’s a bit of a rough patch and I get a bit confused, particularly if I haven’t felt lonely in a while. Plus loneliness can strike at any time even when you’re out at a party or at a BYO with friends.

SO when loneliness hits, I devised a little plan on how to feel less lonely and I’m going to share it with you:

  • Phone a friend, mother, sister, brother, whoever. Just phone someone and if they’re around, invite them out for a hang sesh. I know it’s the obvious but I thought I’d start with the obvious
  • If you’re at a party and feeling lonely, talk to someone. Chances are there’s someone there who feels exactly like you do and who knows, you’ll end up with a new partner/friend/beneficial bro/enemy
  • Read a funny book/blog/article/joke. You’ll be in stitches and we know that when you’re laughing away, it releases endorphins, the body’s natural feel-good chemicals
  • Go for a walk, preferably somewhere in the bush where there are trees, birds and flowers. Soaking in nature and fresh air really opens me up and makes me feel calm, relaxed and well, less lonely. Plus if there are people around, you’re surrounding yourself with company! (well, sort of)
  • Have a bath. Now before you yell at me, warm baths really relaxes your mind and body and I know when you’re feeling lonely, the last thing you want to do is be further alone with yourself and your thoughts. But if you have a podcast or music playing in the background, it can turn into a refreshing experience and you can remind yourself of why you enjoy alone time
  • Talk to your flatmate, even if you may not be a fan of this person but sometimes just having a conversation with another human can make you feel a bit better
  • No flatmates? Talk to your cat(s). I have flatmates but I still talk to my cats. They just meow back but I always feel less lonely. Maybe it’s cause I’m crazy but meh it works
  • No pets? Well sometimes just writing down your thoughts and feelings down really help because in a way, it’s like you’re talking to yourself. I mean while you’re reading this and I’m writing it, I feel like I’m talking to myself. Hell, start a blog. That’s what I did and trust me, I always feel less lonely when I’m writing

We can never fully get rid of feeling lonely but at least we can make the feeling more bearable. I hope this helps! What do you do to combat that empty feeling?

Photo credit: dawnchapmanphoto, check out her stuff!

Leave a Reply

