Lessons from Father Jay

And no, I’m not talking about a priest, a pastor or a pope. I’m talking about my father and yes, I refer to him as Father Jay. Every time I say Father Jay, the first thing people ask is “oh is that your pastor?” no, not my pastor, just my father and yeah I guess sometimes he preaches.

He’s a thoughtful man although he can be the most impatient, angry person but he tries not to be and you know what, sometimes that’s all that counts. He’s very considerate even though he can be harsh and point out your flaws but sometimes you need someone in your life that does. How else are you supposed to better yourself if you don’t know your flaws?

I’m the type of person who actually enjoys being around their family and when I’m away for too long, I miss them. I rely on my father a lot and I’m not ashamed to say that he’s my rock. Sometimes it’s embarrassing how much I rely on him but I think most people will agree, your parents do give the best advice. Got a problem? Dad. Need to share some great news? Dad. Need to vent? Dad.

family

Hell, when I wanted to end my first relationship (it was a three and a half year relationship!) I immediately drove to my dad’s at 11pm so I could talk it through with him. Bearing in mind, he goes to sleep at 10pm (usually) AND I wasn’t living with him. Anyways, he boiled the jug and listened to me while I blubbered and cried about not knowing what the hell I was going to do and gave me hugs. Every time I think of that moment, I get emotional.

It’s safe to say I’ve learnt a lot from my dad. I’ve never really thanked him or told him I appreciated him so dad, if you’re reading this, hello! And thank you for everything. Not a day goes by that I don’t appreciate you (and no I’m not saying this because I’m blogging!).

Let me share with you the top five things I’ve learnt from Father Jay:

  1. Always trust your gut because that funny feeling wouldn’t be there if it wasn’t meant to be there
  2. Confidence is very important if you want to go far (and if you lack in confidence, join Toastmasters! – yes dad I will join Toastmasters at some stage…)
  3. It’s okay to grieve when a big part of your life ends
  4. I’m hopeless when it comes to saving money
  5. It’s okay to be a weirdo (thanks for passing on your weirdness to me dad!)

IMG_1989

Leave a Reply

