Five things that made me happy this week #1

I think I need to get back to appreciating the little things in life. As you get older, life really does get much more fast-paced and you tend to forget to stop and smell the roses.

So, every Saturday for a month, I’m going to post about the five things that made me happy in the week. Wish me luck guys, for my memory can be so shocking.

Wellington’s Pride Parade and Out in the Park,

Last Saturday, Wellington had its first pride parade in 25 years and I was so stoked to be there. It was so colourful, extravagant and fun, despite the typical Wellington weather of dark clouds and wind. While I only saw the second half of the parade (thanks to sleeping through my alarm), it was well worth. There was also the Out in the Park event consisting of food stalls and entertainment at the Waitangi Park. Much fun! I guess what made it an enjoyable experience was being part of a community where everyone was celebrating our diverse community. As you can see, I fan-girled a bit too hard…

IMG_1926

Writing my first Facebook post

I had the opportunity of writing my first Facebook post for work and it was published! So exciting! I work in communications and part of my development was to learn more about how social media works for business and how to engage the public through this channel. To be able to write a post and have it published was a great sense of achievement. Needless to say, I liked it within 0.5 second of it being posted.

 A new pair of chucks

 I love Chuck Taylors. I think they’re so super, duper comfy and stylish in a casual, cool way. I’ve gone through three pairs of black hi-tops and had a hiatus from my last pair. Well, they broke and I didn’t buy a replacement. I’ve been chuck-less for nearly two years so I decided I was going to buy another pair. And I did. And it was the best decision ever. Wearing them felt like home and as soon as I put them on, the first thing my friend said was “that’s so you”. So yes, definitely a highlight!

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Finally starting my blog

 I’d been talking about setting my blog up for the last few months and to have finally done it was the biggest achievement of my week. So far I’m really enjoying the experience of writing and blogging, working out how WordPress works and learning about the blogging world. I truly hope people are enjoying the content and experience as much as I’m enjoying putting it all together.

Placeholder Image

Nails 

Yes I’m talking about fingernails and nail polish. I went to a makeup and fragrance sale with a friend and left with six nail polishes and suffice to say, I’m stoked with the purchase. I was inspired by a workmate to frequently update my nail polish. I used to hate doing it because I’m a messy painter and when it chips, I just remove it anyways and yeah, the maintenance was a nightmare. Anyways, I loved seeing her different coloured nails and she said she has a bad habit of biting her nails so to stop doing it, she paints her nails and as soon as it chips she changes to another shade. I’ve been doing this for about a month now and I’m actually really enjoying it. I love looking down at my colourful nails and it makes me feel really put together. This year, I really wanted to start taking extra care of myself and doing something as small as looking after my nails and painting them makes me feel like I’m doing just that!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I hope you enjoyed the first episode of five things that made me happy this week. I highly encourage you to do this! Tell me, what five things made you happy this week?

Leave a Reply

