Birthday edition

So guess what? Today I turned 27. Woot. Okay not really, just thinking about it causes pain in my groin. Why? Because it’s true what they say – the older you get, the faster time passes. To be honest, I’m not ready for life to go as fast as it is because I’ve got way too many things to do!

I also realised that since the inception of this blog, apart from my ridiculous life experiences I haven’t actually shared with you much about my interests and me. With that being said, I thought I’d take the opportunity to list down some things about me that equals the big 2-7. Ready? Here goes! (and check out the flowers I got!)

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

5 lessons learnt

  • Loving yourself before loving others is actually quite important
  • Let yourself make bad choices and mistakes – it’s what you learn from them that counts
  • Alcohol is not my friend
  • Neither is fast food (but I still hang on to the hope that one day we’ll be friends…)
  • Always trust your gut (thanks dad!)


5 favourite podcasts

  • Casefiles
  • Ted Talks
  • History Exta
  • Myths and Legends
  • Sean Wes TV


5 essential clothing items

  • A good, chunky knit. I love throwing a knit on dresses. They’re just so cosy and casual and on these cold, miserable days it’s what I’m all about
  • A leather jacket – I think this is a must-have in everybody’s wardrobes. It’s cool, it’s trendy and makes you look super edgy no matter what you’re wearing!
  • A great oversized scarf/snood. Seriously, I love scarves specially ones that are oversized and feel like a neck blanket. You can lie on it and it feels like a pillow plus it keeps you warm and gives the casual chic vibe
  • A simple, statement summer dress – what I love about dresses is that you can still wear them in winter and all you need to do to keep warm is layer up. You can’t beat a simple, summer dress especially when it’s one that hugs you in all the rights areas
  • Comfy pair of heeled boots – I struggle when it comes to wearing anything with a heel for long periods of time but I recently came across a pair of plain black boots with an inch heel that’s so super, duper comfy and makes a casual outfit look less casual and more put-together and somewhat fancy. Plus, being a midget, any height I can add is an added bonus. Style, height and comfort – phwoar!

5 must visit countries

  • England including Scotland (hell yeah!)
  • Sweden
  • Croatia
  • Iceland
  • Russia

5 favourite books read in 2017

  • History of Loneliness by John Boyne
  • This House is Haunted by John Boyne
  • Flawed by Cecelia Ahern
  • Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • The Torment of Others by Val McDermid

2 favourite artworks

The Lady of Shalott by John William Waterhouse. Why do I love this piece of work? My goodness where do I start? It’s based on a poem of the same name by Lord Tennyson and I love the poem. It’s beautifully tragic. I also love her expression, I love how realistic the artwork is and I absolutely love the colour combination. Absolutely stunning. I think I might just cry if I ever saw it IRL.

The Raft of the Medusa by Théodore Géricault. Romaticism is my favourite art era. I love the poignant darkness and the emphasis on emotion and individualism. The painting itself is quite dark and gory and depicts the survivors of the Medusa shipwreck. While the situation is dire and desperate, it also depicts a glimmer of hope with two of the figures waving down what one hopes is a ship.

If you read the whole thing, congratulations and thank you! I really appreciate you making it this far and I hope you enjoyed the content. I’m really interested in getting to know you a bit better. Share something about yourself in the comments!

p.s. no I’m not going to get rowdy. I’m actually going to spend my evening in my warm fluffy PJs, eating home made pizza and studying. With a break in between watching My Kitchen Rules Australia. WILD ASF.

Check out my cake… it’s too pretty to eat…

cake

One thought on “Birthday edition

  1. Pingback: Things that made me happy #3 |

Leave a Reply

