If you can’t grow ’em, pick ’em

 

I’ve always wanted to go strawberry picking. I see so many people instagram-ing or Facebook-ing their finds and I was getting really, really jealous. I didn’t know where the hell people were going to pick strawberries so I did my research and came across Penray Gardens in Otaki. Funnily enough, I drive past the gardens every time I drive out of Wellington but I thought it was just a little fruit and veg shop.

One weekend, a couple of friends and I decided to head out on a semi-grey and muggy day. Honestly, it was the best decision ever despite the typical Wellington weather. Before you head into the gardens, there’s a huge sign which shows you all the fruit and veg that are in season to pick and the cost per kilo. You help yourself to a bucket/punnet/wheelbarrow and off you go on a little fruit and veg picking adventure.

I like strawberries. I honest to god do but whenever I buy them from the supermarket, I don’t eat the small punnet in one sitting. Usually I find strawberries that are either not ripe or too mushy. What a waste of average $4.99 for approximately 10 strawberries (if you’re lucky).

So during my excursion, I picked roughly 30 strawberries that cost me approximately $5.50, 3 ginormous cucumbers for $1.00 and 2 huge red onions for $1.50.

I emptied the huge ass punnet in one day. They were scrumptious, delicious, ripe, fruitful, succulent and divine – once I started, I just couldn’t stop. I was kind enough to leave my sister two (or three). She agreed; they were incredible.

IMG_2005

Not only was it stimulating and relaxing; you also get a decent workout from walking up and down, all around. And jumping for joy of course because you’re surrounded by freshness.

So next time you’re stuck for things to do and are lacking in the fruit and veg department, I highly recommend heading out to Penray Gardens. It was a whole lot of fun and I guarantee you’ll leave with a huge smile on your dial. Don’t believe me? Look how happy we were!!!

17190731_10155850590084838_8927686730430014405_n

I can’t wait to head back and pick apples, pears and tomatoes!!

Leave a Reply

